Why marketing sucks, but you need it?!

Disclaimer: I’m not trying to belittle anyone or any relationship. This post is just meant for humor and may be, personal venting. Please ignore if you want to take it seriously.

I’ve studied Marketing as a subject formally, and I can tell you this, the definition they snap at your face doesn’t really give one more than a vague and abstract idea about what it is. It says, “Marketing is the activity, set of institutions, and processes for creating, communicating, delivering, and exchanging offerings that have value for customers, clients, partners, and society at large.”  I mean, yeah, yeah, it is kind of intuitive but to tell you the truth, I could never be convinced of it, though I’ve written exams having superficially learned and “understood” precisely this.

However, from the examples quoted by our professors and whatever I understood from the book(s) I read, a quote which I passively read somewhere few years ago but still resonated with me is, “Marketing is a tax you pay for being unremarkable.” Well, exactly!

Being an engineer and owing to my interest in Mathematics and awe for beauty of Science, I loathed this arm of any firm, hated it from the core of my heart. Yes, that’s what you are, unremarkable, if you’re trying to market your product, because if it wasn’t, you didn’t need to publicize and advertise about it. Right? Wrong!

Abso-fucking-lutely, wrong.

How? Let’s see.

Remember, being friendzoned by still-your-favorite-crush-so-far? Being dumped (although it wasn’t you, but was her 😉 by the love of your life? Or you always remained anonymous for her? Let me know break it to you, why that happened.

You didn’t position yourself well in the eyes of your target customer(s).

The perceived message and the intended message was obviously not in sync. (“I thought we are good friends and that’s how I’d like it to be.”)

Perhaps, the price was too high, given the functionality. (Boy, you should call more often. I’m telling you, she’s worth it. :P)

Or may be, may be, the customer retention policies weren’t well at place and she migrated to another product, whose perceived value was more than yours. (Okay, most likely, either she’s just complicated (read: an unconditional unadulterated form of a b***h) or you’re a complete asshole.)

And in arguably the worst cases, product awareness among the customers was almost nonexistent. (No offense, shy guys, probably, didn’t come out how I intended it to be 😀 :D)

Uhmm…may be, the above terms aren’t making much sense to you (which is obvious in case you haven’t studied Marketing formally) but what I’m trying to say is Marketing is very much part of our lives, you market yourself to a prospective employer, you market yourself to your love interest and if you’re a keeper, to his/her parents eventually. It’ll be better of you, stop working on the Product for a second, and work on the Promotion aspect as well. Among the 4 Ps of Marketing: Product, Price, Place and Promotion, Promotion is probably the most versatile.

Just a heads-up from another anonymous being on this ominous abysmal landscape of never-ending calamity.

One thought on “Why marketing sucks, but you need it?!”

Leave a Reply

