Happy pi day!

tumblr_mc812dW3tX1rpu67so1_400

Okay, it’s not about any pie, it about pi, π, my favorite mathematical symbol or constant. It’s the first Greek symbol I was acquainted with and I’m in love with it ever since. And no other fancy symbol can ever take it’s place. How could I possibly not write a post about it today, The Pi Day. No, sir, I’m not kidding. Today, march 14th (3-14) is celebrated as Pi Day all over the world.  The official celebration begins at 1:59 p.m., to make an appropriate 3.14159 when combined with the date. And I’m strangely super-excited today. My e-mail id has the number “314” in it; I own a pendant with pi made on it. Here, have a look:

Photo0637      Photo0640

Sorry, I don’t have a high quality phone camera, so please bear with me. Incidently, it is a gift I got just a few days ago. I don’t think there could have been be a better timing of getting it. Really, this is just so awesome (btw, it is my choice, I asked my friend to gift it to me.. 😛 oh yes, I’m that shameless at times.) I wore it today for the first time, out of sheer excitement. (I never wore a pendant in my entire life before except once, on a cousin’s wedding day.)  I have been always been intrigued by the story of Pi, no, I don’t mean the male protagonist of the Oscar-winning movie , Life of Pi.

Let me tell you some facts:

-> Believe it or not, it the coolest of all the mathematical constants there are.

-> Its common definition is the ratio of the circumference to the diameter of a circle, but there are a plenty of more definitions too.

-> It is an irrational number, i.e., no matter how accurate we calculate its value, there would be no pattern of digits found whatsoever. The first 100 decimal digits of π are: 3.14159 26535 89793 23846 26433 83279 50288 41971 69399 37510 58209 74944 59230 78164 06286 20899 86280 34825 34211 70679…

piberational_fullpic_artwork_large

(Well, this happens to be my favorite joke, couldn’t resist including it.)

->It is also an transcendental number, meaning no polynomial equation having rational constant coefficients can have π as a solution.

-> The most commonly used approximate value of π is 3.14 or 22/7, which we’re normally taught in high school, but even more accurate approximate rational numbers are:  333/106, 355/113, and more.

-> It is the title of an awesome 1998 thriller movie. 😛 (just kidding)

-> Albert Einstein was born on Pi Day (3/14/1879) though Pi Day is being celebrated only since 1988. (I’d have felt so glad, had it been my b’day too, but alas!)

-> 3.14 backwards is PIE.

-> Another π joke:  “What is the volume of a pizza of thickness a and radius z?” Answer: pi z z a. (not funny enough, eh? I bet you’ll laugh at the next one.)

-> In the Star Trek episode “Wolf in the Fold,” Spock foils the evil computer by commanding it to “compute to last digit the value of pi.” Isn’t it magnificent?

-> A Web site finds a person’s birthday and other well known numbers in the digits of pi. Here:

http://www.dr-mikes-math-games-for-kids.com/your-name-in-pi.html

I won’t stop, you know, I’m hysterical right now. I’m gonna get similar π earrings too very soon.

2 thoughts on “Happy pi day!”

Leave a Reply

